[eng subs] Interview with Igor Strelkov (filmed on 25/11/14 published on 28) – YouTube

[eng subs] Interview with Igor Strelkov (filmed on 25/11/14 published on 28) – YouTube

via [eng subs] Interview with Igor Strelkov (filmed on 25/11/14 published on 28) – YouTube.

About gerryhiles

OK "Know Thyself." Socrates. "To thine own self be true." Socrates. "The unexamined life is not worth living." Socrates. That about sums me up, but of course is an ongoing attempt which I do not expect to fully realize, even if maybe such as Socrates and Jung did in their last moments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [eng subs] Interview with Igor Strelkov (filmed on 25/11/14 published on 28) – YouTube

  1. Lira says:

    Hi Gerry, I’ve noticed that you are interested in Strelkov interviews. I’m Russian and I read him a lot at “antiquarians” forum. Strelkov ‘sits’ there for years under the nickname “Kotych”/ Котыч (can be translated as “Cat-son”) Here is his old posting (September 2009) on patreotism.
    http://forum-antikvariat.ru/topic/119464-nakipelo-kto-realno-lyubit-rossiyu/page__st__50

    A topic starter wrote:
    “I caught myself thinking , that I don’t love Russia. I had been a patriot. My education is not bad. I served in the army. Earned some money. Lost it. Patriotic stuff doesn’t move me. A question: is there anybody among forum members, who loves Russia? without pathos?”

    Strelkov replies:
    “The question per se doesn’t exist for me. To me Russia is my Motherland. Without pathos and brag (well, with these, when I get drunk sometimes). No matter how foul our state is and how loutish our “God-bearing” people are in their current condition, I’ll never change Russia to another country. Logically I understand many comrades – everything is so sickening here, that sometimes one wants to run “wherever one’s legs carry.” But that’s not a solution. The solution is here, in Russia. We either will be able to change our life to the better (in all aspects), or we and our country will become history. Which, inspite of all blood, dirt and tragedy , FULFILLED itself. Russia FULFILLED itself in history as a great country , and it is great in all possible meanings. It gave to the World so much in all fields of human activities; and, if God grant, it’ll give more. If not, we, comrades, will be guilty . Not only those bastards, who took power in the state.
    [Someone’s reply, than Strelkov again:] The reasoning about officials and sinecure, in my opinion, doesnt’ have anything to do with the topic. The fact that our authorities are represented by absolutely immoral, dissolute and not too clever thieves – is undeniable.They choose assistants and hangers-on on all levels according to their own qualities. That’s called “negative selection” – reread “Parkinson’s law” – everything is described there (plus make an adjustment to “Russian reality” – that is ,everything is doubled). Love for your Motherland is a different thing. It’s not only love for landscapes, or love for your family, it is also pain for your society , sympathy and compassion if it is in trouble, and will to assist somehow to its recovery. A person not considering themselves a part of the society, who is ready “to trade” the society for another, more comfortable one ( by changing not only the place of living but also one’s mentality) and beforehand assenting to the change of perception and values of their children – in ancient Rus such a person was called by a succinct word “izgoy” (“social outcast”). In my opinion, that’s not typical for Russian people, however, “things are changing”. Not to the better. If it goes on, as it does now, then over a couple of centuries our offspring (if they exist at all) will chatter in ‘pidgin-English (or in Chinese, or in Tajik – depends on their luck) and examine inscriptions in unknown languade on random artefacts, excavated from the ground. ”
    (translation is mine)

    • gerryhiles says:

      Thanks for the tip.

    • gerryhiles says:

      I started to learn Russian about fifty years ago, but circumstances interfered and I have forgotten what little I learned, so I have to rely on translations of course, but just about everything I’ve found out about Strelkov indicates a man of integrity, modesty and deep commitment to Russia – in a way a bit like Socrates, who recognized the corruption in Athens, but refused to give up on what he believed it could be.

      • Lira says:

        “just about everything I’ve found out about Strelkov indicates a man of integrity, modesty and deep commitment to Russia”
        You are absolutely right.

Leave a Reply

